MTA Update

Tournament Announcement

Sooty Grunter Winter Series 2016

The last few years of the MTA Sooty Grunter winter series we have had 4 stand alone Tournaments with the best 3 to count for the Sooty Angler of the year. This year there are 3 stand alone tournaments and we have included the MAFSA sooty World championship as the 2nd Round to give us the 4 tournaments in the series. This was done to take away any risk that the MTA comp we normally run on Eungella would not put added fishing pressure on the dam before the Sooty Grunter world c...hampionship.
We have been asked how the MTA comp will work in with the MAFSA comp. First and foremost it will not affect the MAFSA organisation. To be eligble and to be counted in the MTA comp you have to be a MTA member either annual or on the day. The results of the MTA member will then be extracted from the official MAFSA result and points allocated as a normal stand alone comp. These points will then be eligble for the best of 3 tournament points for the Sooty AOY. We will also as decided at the last meeting have a $50pp entry fee for any MTA members to participate but this is optional not a compulsory entry fee.

Round 1-16/17th April Teemburra Dam

Round 2 - 30th April/1st May MAFSA Sooty Grunter World Championship Eungella Dam

Round 3 - 11/12th June Eungella Dam

Round 4 - 9/10th July Teemburra Dam


Tackle Pro Teemburra Team Championship

Firstly a massive thanks goes out to all the competitors in the comp Teemburra Team Championship and especially to Dan Hadley from Tackle Pro for donating some great prizes to make it a great comp. We had a fantastic turnout besides the less than ideal conditions. Everyone was in good spirits and we raised $2,200 dollars to go back into our local impoundments.

Fishing was tough but there were still some great catches. Congratulations to Geoff Newby and Phil Lyons on taking out the team championship.

1. Geoff Newby and Phil Lyons - 259cm
2. Rhyce Bullimore and Adam Hill - 233cm
3. Andre Weeks and Ryan Soper - 210cm
4. Mat McFarlane and Shane Clark - 185cm
5. Cliff Mann and Nathan Jones - 185cm